Mission Trail Athletic League History

MTAL All League Archives
MTAL Team Champions Archives
MTAL Individual Champions Archives

The Mission Trail Athletic League was formed decades ago, and is part of the Central Coast Section (CCS) of the California Interscholastic Federation (State CIF). Since its inception, the league has had a number of different member schools from time to time. With the 2008-2009 school year, however, the league merged with the now defunct Coastal Athletic League of smaller schools in the region, leading to the present league configuration of 16 schools.

In many sports, the MTAL operates with two divisions, the Mission Trail Division, consisting primarily of the larger schools in the League, and the Coastal Division, normally consisting of the smaller schools in the League. There is some movement of schools from time to time between divisions in a given sport, but this is not a normal occurrence.

The MTAL also serves as the host league for 8-man Football schools throughout the CCS, for MBL schools playing Field Hockey, and for MBL and SCCAL schools playing Boys Lacrosse.

Since 1975, with a brief exception during part of the 2004-2005 school year, the Mission Trail Athletic League has had only two League Commissioners to run its day to day operations.

From 1975, through the 2003-2004 school year, and then again for part of 2004-2005, ELGIE BELLIZIO served as League Commissioner, helping to shape its current existence and its dedication to educationally-based athletics. The MTAL Sportsmanship award is named in his honor as is one of the Sportsmanship Awards of the Central Coast Section. On August 30, 2014, Elgie’s contributions to high school athletics in our region were recognized as he was inducted into the Salinas Valley Sports Hall of Fame. Elgie truly is a legend in high school athletics.

Beginning with the 2005-2006 school year and continuing to the present, Tim McCarthy has served as the Mission Trail Athletic League Commissioner.